When the Erie Canal Museum opened its doors on October 25, 1962, it celebrated and preserved the life of the last remaining weighlock building in America. This Greek revival building stands as a monument to the Erie Canal’s transformative role in the history of the United States.
The Erie Canal Museum Today
The present professional Museum and the attached Syracuse Heritage Area Visitor Center stand as testimony to the work of many dedicated people. The Museum, which is accredited by the American Association of Museums, is visited annually by more than 20,000 visitors from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
The Erie Canal Made New York, a permanent exhibit that opened in 2015, uses interactive displays, narrative audio tracks and original artifacts to explain why and by whom the Erie Canal was conceived, the technology used in its construction, Canal-inspired inventions and the waterway’s role in our country’s social and economic development. A display of the 1825 Wedding of the Waters ceremonial Canal opening, complete with fireworks sound effects, leads visitors to the 1850 National Register Weighlock Building, the Museum’s most important artifact.