The board of trustees of the Erie Canal Museum recently elected officers for 2017, and re-elected three trustees to second three-year terms.

Steven H. Kelly, associate treasurer at Syracuse University, was elected president of the board. Vice President is Sarah Tietje, an academic counselor in the HEOP program at Cazenovia College. Treasurer is Michael P. Goetz, CPA, a manager at Firley, Moran, Freer and Eassa, CPA, P.C. Secretary is Blaine T. Bettinger, an associate at Bond, Schoeneck and King Attorneys. Chair is Susan Hughes, director of the American Pomeroy Historic Genealogical Association.

Goetz, Kelly and Ali Jackson Popp were elected to second terms on the board. Jodee A. LaCelle, a vice president at M&T Bank, was elected to Trustee Emeritus.

The board is responsible for financial oversight, overall planning, resource development, and participation in and periodic review of the Museum’s mission. The Museum is partially funded by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.