The board of trustees of the Erie Canal Museum recently elected officers for 2018, and elected three new trustees to two-year terms.

Patrick J. Griffin, Associate Relationship Manager at M&T Bank, was elected president of the board. Sarah Tietje-Mietz, Academic Coordinator Counselor at the HEOP/Center for Teaching and Learning at Cazenovia College, was elected vice president. Michael P. Goetz, CPA, Manager at Firley, Moran, Freer and Eassa, CPA, P.C., was elected treasurer. Blaine T. Bettinger, Associate at Bond, Schoeneck and King Attorneys, was elected secretary. Steven H. Kelly, Associate Treasurer at Syracuse University, was elected chair of the board.

Michael Harriff, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at WCNY, Tia A. Jones, Complex Accounts and Dealers Specialist at Rapid Response Monitoring Services, and Brett A. Mosier, Adult Educator at the Syracuse City School District, were elected to the board. They will each serve two-year terms.

The board is responsible for financial oversight, overall planning, resource development, and participation in and periodic review of the mission of the Erie Canal Museum, a non-profit educational organization in Syracuse, New York. The Museum is open Monday through Saturday from 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. and Sunday from 10:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Admission is free with a suggested donation of $5. The Museum is partially funded by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.